Book Reviews ♡ · Books ♡ · Reviews ♡

A Series of Unfortunate Events: the Bad Beginning Review ♡

Here’s my first post (technically), and a warning I’m not very good at reviewing so this’ll probably be a short and rambley post ♡

Rating: ♡♡♡♡♡/5

Synopsis (from goodreads): Dear Reader,
I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.
In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.
It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.
With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Review: I started this book because I had heard about the new Netflix series and I wanted to finish reading them in the first place (since I had started them a long time ago and never finished). I knew from the very beginning that I was going to enjoy the Bad Beginning because not only is it fantastically written but it also teaches life lessons throughout the entirety of the book (along with definitions for the larger words that most children wouldn’t know).

Now to switch gears and actually talk about the book 😊 This book made me realize that Lemony Snicket is a fantastic author because of his pacing and well thought out characters, I was never bored and could barely put the book down 😁 Lemony really knows how to break up a serious scene with something hilarious and/or sweet, and I really felt like I was losing a friend when I finished. Spoilers❣ When Olaf smacked Klaus and scared precious Sunny, I really wanted to transport myself into the book and beat him senseless. I mean why? These are children, not servants, not your troup members, so be kind to them and not an asshole. And Mr. Poe is so frustratingly dense that I face-palmed so hard when he didn’t listen to the children 😑 I mean, these children are standing in front of you and are telling you that this man (who is supposed to be their guardian and whose supposed to be protecting them) has hurt Klaus and would’ve hurt Sunny and you completely ignore them! 😧✋😑 To get straight to the point, I really enjoyed The Bad Beginning and I can’t wait to continue the series. Sorry for the terrible review, but I do hope you enjoyed it in some way 😊

One thought on “A Series of Unfortunate Events: the Bad Beginning Review ♡

Leave a Reply

