Book Reviews ♡ · Books ♡ · Reviews ♡

The Morganville Vampires Volumes 1&2 Review ♡

I’ve had this bindup for years and never actually read it till now, so I thought why not do a sort of review/first impressions for it 😋

Book 1: Glass Houses

Rating: ♡♡♡♡♡/5

Synopsis: Morganville is a small college town in the heart of Texas that has its share of quirky characters – and some evil ones too. When student Claire Danvers moves off campus into one of Morganville’s oldest houses, she finds that her roommates don’t show many signs of life. But they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood.

Review: I have to say I loved Glass Houses, I mean I’m an avid vampire novel fan and I’m always a bit wary when I go into a new series since I get my hopes up because of it being a vampire novel 😅 The characters grew on me very fast, I love Claire whose strong when she needs to be but also weak/scared when the time calls for it. Oh and Eve is my favorite, I always love goth characters because they always make them peppy and cute (which tons of goth girls/guys are, don’t judge a book by its cover guys) and Eve is the epitome of cute and lovely. Also, Shane and Michael are gorgeous and just all around swoon worthy, ’nuff said. The storyline in this first book is very interesting, I’m so curious where the story will take us and those ending chapters where so crazy, I loved every minute of it 😋 I’m just curious how they will keep Claire’s parents from trying to take her, because there will be summer break so how are the vampires going to keep them from taking her?? Did anyone else wonder this after finishing??

Book 2: The Dead Girls’ Dance

Rating: ♡♡♡♡♡/5

Synopsis: Claire Danvers has her share of challenges – like living among creatures of the night. On the upside, she has a great roommate (who tends to disappear at sunup) and a new boyfriend. Now a fraternity is throwing its annual Dead Girls’ Dance and – surprise! – Claire and her equally outcast friend have been invited. When they find out why, all hell breaks loose, because this time both the living and the dead are ready to tear up the night.

Review: The second book in the Morganville Vampires series is a rollercoaster. Literally, all the ups and downs had my head spinning 😖 When Shane’s dad showed up, I immediately remembered how much of an asshole he is (him and his vigilantes; ps I did read some of this before but couldn’t remember much). I know the title is meant to be catchy but the Dead Girls’ Dance was only for a chapter (maybe two) and the whole point of this plot was to capture Shane’s dad and save Shane, so there could’ve been a more relevant title. But I do know that the chapters for the Dead Girls’ Dance was a turning point for everyone since they realized how far Shane’s dad would go to kill a couple vampires, I may retract my other statement since it kind of does make sense (I suppose) 😅 All in all, it was a thrilling novel and I cannot wait to get the next bindup! Also, ps: I understand why Shane is being kinda pissy at Michael (all his life vampires have been a constant pain) but I think he needs to realize where Michael is coming from. He had to sit there and watch as his girlfriend and friends almost got killed and he couldn’t do anything about it! It tore him up inside and if I was in Michaels position I would’ve done the same thing. I hope that he comes to realize that just because Michael turned doesn’t mean he’s going to be like the other vampires, Michael is, and always will be, Shane’s best friend and confidant. Enough ranting, who is your favorite character??

Leave a Reply

